About Us

Mission Statement

The Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation founded in 1988 by then-Chief Justice Dorothy Comstock Riley. The mission of the Society is to collect, preserve, and display documents, records, and memorabilia relating to the Michigan Supreme Court and the other Courts of Michigan, promote the study of the history of Michigan’s courts, and seek to increase public awareness of Michigan’s legal heritage.

The Society sponsors and conducts historical research, provides educational materials for students, and sponsors and provides publications, portraits and memorials, special events, and other projects consistent with its mission.

Society dues are $150.00 annually for individuals and $1,000.00 for law firms and other groups. Attorneys who have appeared in a calendared case before the Michigan Supreme Court may join the Advocates Guild for an additional $50.00 per year on top of their Society membership.

Click here to pay online

Contributions to the Society, a nonprofit 501c(3), are tax-deductible to the fullest extent of the law. Thank you for supporting the Society’s work!


  • President: Joseph J. Gavin
  • Vice President: Matthew C. Herstein
  • Secretary: Janet K. Welch
  • Treasurer: John G. Fedynsky

Board of Directors:

Frederick M. Baker, Jr.
Mark Bendure
Mark Cooney
Maura D. Corrigan
Peter Cunningham
Gregory J. DeMars
Deborah Gordon
Carl W. Herstein
Hon. Mary Beth Kelly
Mary Massaron
Denise Langford Morris
Lawrence P. Nolan
John D. Pirich
Robert F. Riley
Hon. Angela Kay Sherigan

Executive Director:  Lynn Seaks

Assistant Executive Director:  Carrie Sharlow

Corporate Sponsors

Current Society Membership